Salem Hotel – Guest Testimonials- Hawthorne Hotel
Reservations
Check Out Date
Rooms
Adults
Kids

Guest Testimonials

April 7, 2014

"We were there for a four-day conference, so we had the opportunity to experience the restaurant, the tavern, the conference facilities, and not quite enough of Salem! The staff are knowledgeable about everything from public transpiration to museums and other attractions to local restaurants. We watched them give 110% to the infirm, to children, and to other guests as well..."

Angel B. (TripAdvisor)

March 19, 2014

"Wenotified one of the wait staff that the room felt a little 'warm' - almostimmediately the A/C was turned off and it was cool again...Liz constantly checked in to make sure everything was running smoothly and thatthere was nothing we needed. (extremely professional)...The bridal suite was set up beautifully for us. The guests were all treated warmly and respectfully."

McCormick/Wang Wedding

December 19, 2013

"Dear Tinia...I knew that my guests were in great hands every step of the way. We felt like we were staying in a guest room at a family member's home! I will be sure to recommend the Hawthorne Hotel to anyone and everyone, and can't wait to return!"

Sharon Racine (Gregg)

October 16, 2013

"Good Morning Liz: Our daughter, Amanda, was married on Sept. 28th, with the reception at the Hotel.  I want to thank you for all your assistance and support in coordinating everything at the reception.  You were so very professional in handling every issue and concern.  We certainly appreciate all your efforts to make the evening special for all our family and friends."

Susan Brown (Email)

July 16, 2013

"...This has to rate as one of the very best pet friendly experiences we have ever had.  It all started when I called the Hotel to make the reservation. Our pet was immediately given a toy and we knew from that moment having a pet at the Hawthorne would be no problem at all.  You should be very proud of your staff...EVERYONE was friendly and so willing to help.  Thanks again for a great pet friendly travel experience. "

Wayne Runner

June 16, 2013

Dear Karen: I don't think it's possible for our Rehearsal Dinner to have been any more perfect. Thank you so much for overseeing every detail so that everything we discussed was exactly as expected. What a success!

Judith

April 30, 2013

Liz: i can't thank you and the banquet staff enough for helping Brian and Marcello plan such a wonderful wedding! everyone enjoyed the atmosphere of your historic hotel, the delicious food, and the professionalism of the staff. It was great to know their special day was in good hands ~ thank you again.

Deb. G.

February 18, 2013

We came here to celebrate Nathaniel's 34th birthday! We had such a great time...the food was fantastic...and the ambiance was lovely. Our server was incredibly attentive and friendly. We would definitely return.

Jennifer W., Holliston, MA

February 14, 2013

My husband and I found this hotel many years ago. (We have been together for 35 years).  There is something about this property that just makes you feel so welcomed. It doesn't matter the time of year, we have been there for all four seasons, and it is always the same gracious hospitality."

Maura L., Westerly, RI (TripAdvisor)

October 29, 2012

"Karen - I wanted to let you know how much our group enjoyed the lunch last Friday. The consensus was - "terrific!".  Here is one comment: "The Hawthorne Hotel was a terrific place to get lunch - one of the best buffets I've ever experienced in terms of the quality of the food.” Thank you for your fine service and great food.  I wasn't on the trip - I feel I missed something very special."

Chris Witkowski 

October 24, 2012

"Love the hotel. I come up every year in October and you guys do a fantastic job. The tavern has a fantastic menu and the costume balls are the bomb."

Bill Weaver

October 15, 2012

"Hi Karen and Christine, I just wanted to send you a quick thank you for all you guys did for me and Anthony's wedding. It was beautiful, and I couldn't have asked for a better day ( even with me being late!) You guys were very helpful all the way through and I'm glad we had our wedding at the Hawthorne Hotel."

Krystal and Anthony

October 1, 2012

"Hi Juli: I want to express my sincere gratitude and appreciation for the impeccable level of service we received over this past weekend at my daughter's wedding, our stays at the hotel and the farewell brunch on Sunday. Everything was absolutely perfect and all the festivities went off without a single glitch. Chef Rhiannon was masterful! The food was fantastic, served hot, eloquently presented and drew rave reviews from all. She went above and beyond to prepare special desert plates for the bride and groom...Claire Marie went above and beyond to find a special wine for the FOB which was greatly appreciated. Mike saw to our every need for the entire evening of the wedding and was back on duty in the morning to take care of us at the farewell breakfast."

Most sincerely, Bob

September 27, 2012

"Hi Juli:  We just returned from our Honeymoon and I wanted to send you a quick note to thank you as our reception at the Hawthorne was spectacular. Our family and friends are still talking about what an incredible evening it was and how impressed they were with the Hawthorne and staff."

Kind Regards, Robyn

August 22, 2012

"Great stay at your hotel last weekend. I have pictures of myself from the 1960s, when my ballroom dancing class had their end of the season dances there -- it's still the classiest place in town."

Andrea Hunt, Washington DC

August 17, 2012

Hello Christine, Now that Ben and I have returned from our restful honeymoon I wanted to take this opportunity to personally thank you as well as all staff who helped put together our beautiful wedding! Guests repeatedly mentioned how wonderful everything was from the service, the food, decor, stay rooms etc."

Sarah and Ben Goodhue

July 30, 2012

"Thank you so much for a wonderful stay in your hotel. Everything was terrific. Much appreciated."

Cindy Cope

July 30, 2012

"Being in the hotel business for 20 years, it was so refreshing to come to a hotel, where everything from check-in (Sarah is fabulous!) to room cleanliness, food, service, everything impeccable! Thank you!"

Lorrane & Jack Meaney

July 22, 2012

Dear Miss Ogeron,
My stay at the Hawthorne was spectacular! Though I was only there for 1 night, your staff could not have been nicer or, more accomodating. I was traveling with my 15year old daughter and a dog. Your staff assisted me with luggage, directions, and kindness. I will certainly stay at the Hawthorne on my next visit to Salem.

Thank you
Carole M Driscoll

July 9, 2012

We have stayed here several times and have always been impressed with your facility. Location is perfect and staff very knowledgeable!

Margaret Gallagher-Elmer

Smithfield, RI

July 9, 2012

Checked in quick late in the middle of a wedding party. Met by very friendly and helpful member of staff. Love the old style.

B. Erik Moen and family

June 29, 2012

Good morning Lindsay:
First and most importantly – a huge THANKS to you and your team for doing such an outstanding job last night.  Amy and Jay were THRILLED with everything and the evening was a HUGE success.  Amy commented on how great the food was and service flow was perfect.  Liz was fantastic to work with on site and just a delightful person.  Your entire team was gracious and offered outstanding service.  You are a tremendous partner and I so enjoyed working with you from the moment we met in April.  Thank you for being so responsive, detailed, and delightful!

All the best, Jennifer
RLC Events

April 22, 2012

Juli, my daughter, Dinah Cardin, has lived in Salem for years so I've been in your hotel many times and have enjoyed the warmth of the fire in the tavern. My husband accompanied me this trip so we decided it would be fun to make it a real vacation and stay in The Hawthorne.  When we arrived at 11:00 on the 12th we were delighted when we were greeted with the offer of an upgrade

from our reservation to one of the newly updated suites. We spent 5 nights in the spacious, beautifully decorated, quiet luxury of the suite with morning sun shining through the windows. Needless to say we enjoyed our visit even more because of our experience at The Hawthorne. We took full advantage of the early morning coffee bar as well as wonderful breakfasts and late night in The Tavern and have nothing but compliments. I just wanted to thank you and your management team for our memorable stay…..Kay Norris

March 6, 2012

Dear Christine

I wanted to let you know what a fabulous time my daughter’s bridal shower was. The room looked absolutely magnificent, the food was fantastic, and the service was impeccable! I cannot thank you, and your amazing staff enough, for helping to make this day so very special for all of us. The time you spent with me to help plan the menu, how to have the room set up, all the little intricate details of preparation, to the outstanding cake that you suggested, were perfection. It was exactly what I wanted it to be for my daughter and my guests. Words cannot express my gratitude. Every guest had nothing but compliments as they were leaving.

I will definitely be passing out high marks, and rave reviews for the beautiful Historic Hawthorne Hotel, and the tremendous and nothing but professional staff that provided me and my guests with everything we could have possibly wanted or needed for my event. I will definitely be returning in the future for any other functions that I may have.

With my deepest gratitude and thanks to you and the staff of the Hawthorne,

Lilly G

Hi Christine!
 
 I hope all is well. Jack and I are just starting to settle down now! We cannot thank you enough for entire night. People are still talking about how fabulous everything was. The staff were so accommodating and I didn't have to worry about a single thing. I never thought in a million years my wedding night could be so relaxing and fun! I cannot thank you all enough for everything.
 
 Thank you!
 Elizabeth

February 4, 2012

Alaina, our day-of coordinator made our wedding flawless. I normally am a pretty uptight person but she made sure I didn't worry about a single detail the entire night. She was accommodating, organized, and could not have been nicer. It sounds a little crazy but I know when I think back on my day I will always remember her. I know my entire family appreciated having someone there that allowed the entire day to run smoothly. Christine Turner, our wedding coordinator for the entire wedding planning process was also such a pleasure to work with. She answered all questions quickly and kept me at ease the entire time. Her upbeat personality was so refreshing during the planning months and was the perfect reminder I needed to have fun while planning. Left in her hands, I knew the wedding would go off without a hitch. I could trust her opinions and knew that everything she did was in our best interest. These two women made my wedding fantastic and I cannot thank them enough for that!

Elizabeth Storti

Campbell/Storti Wedding

Dec 19, 2011

There are many things that have to come together to make an occasion "Special" and Your restaurant/hotel has managed just that. After spending ur anniversary at Nathaniel's @ The Hawthorne, I felt compelled to write and commend you on your excellence! I travel and have had the opportunity to eat and stay at some of the nicest places in the world. With that having been said, I'd like to rank you as among the "Very Best". Upon entering you are embraced by a warm and inviting environment with a subtle and unpretentious elegance and greeted by an hospitable and attentive staff. It seems some times that when you most want things to go right, that is when something is bound to go wrong!  In this case I had accidentally  engaged my vehicle lights from it's remote. I most definitely would have spent some of this "Special" night interacting with the people from AAA and a surly tow truck driver if not for the efforts of your manager Adam. Noticing the lights on my vehicle, he began discreetly searching for the car's owner.and found me. It would have been a little embarrassing, had it been handle another way ie: paging! The food service was nothing short of spectacular. Then, from our appetizer,salad,entree, to the desert wine, your staff had us savoring each and every bite or sip. After dinner drinks in the Hotel lounge were like the period at the end of a well written sentence, exactly what was called for. The perfect end to what had now become a definitively remembered "EXPERIENCE".

It is with the warmest of regard that I send this and it is needless to say, Your Hotel/ restaurant and YOUR STAFF, will be HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Sincerely, Richard Fraser

October 14, 2011

Hello, Juli,
 We were so happy to be back at the Hawthorne last week.  It is so lovely and your front desk staff are attentive and kind, despite the big tour groups they were managing last week.  The "guess the weight of the pumpkin" contest and the other touches, such as the beautiful flowers in the lobby, just add to the warmth.  Wishing you a happy Fall and hoping Halloween is not too crazy for all of you.  Busy season for the Hawthorne .
 Best Regards,
 Paula Hammer

October 08, 2011
 
 hi there...i just wanted to shoot you a quick email to let you know that we really enjoyed our stay at your hotel.  even though we only had one night, i found the room to be extremely clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly, helpful and contributed greatly to our pleasurable stay with you.  the hawthorne hotel will definitely be our "go to" hotel should we find ourselves back in salem (and i hope we do)!
 
 thanks so much and have a great day!
 best,
 susan francovig & scott ostrander

September 28, 2011
 

Just wanted you to know that my husband and I spend a wonderful weekend with Hudson Valley Corvette at your hotel!

I would definitely recommend your hotel to anyone who may be staying in that area.  The rooms were beautiful and we both slept better than we usually do when away from home. Would love to know where you get your pillows from?

Hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Sandy and Joey Villano

September 21, 2011

Hello, Christine,

Just wanted to tell you how pleased I was with the outcome of the baby shower.  You staff was outstanding, from the minute we arrived loaded down with gifts and cake, they were super.  The food was excellent and displayed nicely. Everything went smooth and we were able to enjoy our friends and family in the celebration. Peter Barter's flowers were beautiful. A good time was enjoyed by all. Now, we just wait for "Chloe Ann" to arrive.

Many Thanks,

Phyllis B.

August 23, 2011

Dear Robyn:

Suffice it to say it was truly wonderful, and I cannot think of any other venue that would have been  as welcoming, elegant, hospitable, flexible, stellar as the Hawthorne. Laura was a rock and an inspiration for me. Without her this reunion would not have been the success it was. Over 1/3 of those attending were new to the family reunion-and all were aux anges. It gave me great pleasure to see so many happy faces.....and to your staff who faithfully fetched me milk at 2am hearty hugs-that is "going the extra mile". And Alaina was a perfect adjunct to help keep things together.

I hope that the next reunion in the area takes advantage of the Hawthorne . Had we chosen any other place it would not have been quite so perfect, so lovely, so warm-and the food so delectable....ah eggs benedict.......

amicalement,

Sarah Di Cicco

Towne Family Reunion

August 16, 2011

You are awesome Kristie, thank you!  The dinner could not have been better! All of us west coast people were challenged by the lobster and it made it truly an experience for us.Thanks so much for helping us to look good! The staff working the dinner is among the best I ever worked with, everything was met with a positive response, never a hesitation.

Sandy

Freyschlag Rehearsal Dinner

July 18, 2011

Good morning Karen,

We had a wonderful day Saturday. The room, the food, the staff, were all terrific. It's always been my experience that the Hawthorne Hotel is a class act and you didn't disappoint. My son and future daughter-in-law had a memorable day, as did the rest of us.

I understand I signed a pre authorized credit card authorization and would expect you will send me a copy of the final bill.

 The family has had many nice times at the Hawthorne, beginning when I was a child and my parents used to take us to the Saturday night buffets, through my wedding, the collations for my parents when they passed( sad times but very nicely done), and now to this bridal shower. Thanks you for all your help.

Sincerely,

Dottie

June 17, 2011

A pleasure to stay in a hotel that is so tasteful and well-cared for and where the staff are uniformly friendly and personable.  Wow!

Paul Dobbs, Boston

June 7, 2011

Dear Juli,
 I am writing to you to tell you of our experience while we had our wedding at Hawthorne Hotel.  Our wedding was the Sharnprapai/Shaw wedding held May 14, 2011.  Lindsay Otis was our coordinator.  We also worked with Karen Cotton during our planning for the wedding.  Lindsay and Karen were both very professional and accepting and respectful of the fact that we were two women getting married.  This was not always our experience at places we explored for our wedding.  Lindsay was always helpful, available, friendly and has a wonderful sense of humor.  Her calm demeanor was very helpful as we finalized our wedding details.  Unfortunately I was on crutches and my ability to help was limited.  LIndsay helped with set-up and clean-up in a very helpful and coordinated way.  In our wedding pictures, you see Lindsay serving champagne, getting us food, helping out the waitstaff, etc.  Basically Lindsay was helpful in any way needed.  Thanks to Lindsay and Karen, our experience at the Hawthorne Hotel was very exceptional and we will strongly recommend the Hawthorne to others.
 
 Sincerely,
 Jennifer Shaw
 Sharon Sharnprapai

November 23, 2010

Robyn: Marlene Chused forwarded a copy of the evaluation request she received for our time at the Hawthorne Hotel. I was one of the clerks on the committee and had the opportunity to meet and work directly with your staff. I have worked on a number of different events over the years and I can tell you that this one of the best run operations I have seen. Your staff could not have been more accommodating. Thomas MacDonald is first class. Every part of the service provided was top notch and all of your staff was accommodating and bent over backwards to meet our needs. I would not hesitate to recommend your hotel for a function or just a reason to get away and have a great weekend stay. I have told Thomas directly, but wanted to thank you and your staff for a wonderful experience.

Bob Cutler

August 14, 2010

Christine-
 First off- I cannot say enough to either of you about how beautiful our wedding was thanks to your hard work. Everything from start to finish was so wonderfully handled. Thank you for always being so quick to respond to my numerous questions and always being there with great advice. Honestly, we never felt like just another wedding. Your care, attention to detail, and experience made us feel like our wedding was important to you. I spent a lot of time on the details (as you know :-P ) and your team took what I had imagined and made it a million times more incredible. I haven't stopped hearing from our guests how wonderful everything was- the details, the ballroom, the staff, and the food. Additionally, Robyn and the front desk team did an incredible job. Robyn worked so hard to help us set up our room block and work out easy ways for Greg and I to get ready on the wedding day. This attention to our wants, needs and dreams made the planning so much easier. Thank you for everything.
 Again- for everything- thank you. We feel blessed to be starting our marriage on such a wonderful note.
 Greg and Stephanie North

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Good morning Karen...thanks for your e-mail...and thanks so much for your hospitality and professionalism...I agree with Mindy 100%!  I have been involved in political fundraising and event planning for over twenty (20) years and I can honestly say that you and your staff are among the best I have ever dealt with in this business! 

Charlie & Lauren Baker, Senator Tisei, The Baker Committee staff and most importantly our guests were thoroughly impressed with the Hawthorne Hotel and the gracious hosts - your ace team!  Thank you for being such an important part of our team! 

The Hawthorne Hotel was indeed the perfect venue for our "Big Baker Bash" and we'll never forget that special evening in Salem!  Thanks again.  I look forward to seeing you again soon, Karen.

Sincerely,

Ed Palleschi

 

 

  • Explore Salem Package

    Let the Hawthorne Hotel show you Salem the way it's meant to be seen!
  • PEM Package

    The Expansiveness of the Peabody Essex Museum's exhibits can only be contained by the imagination.
  • VIP Package

    No need to leave your best friend behind with our Very Important Pet Package
  • Special Offers!

    From family deals to romantic getaways, we offer just the vacation you need. Book your package today!
  • Winter Warmth Package

    Let this package warm your heart
  • Romance Package

  • Spring Fling Package

    Enjoy Salem in the Springtime! Beautiful!
  • BOOK
    NOW
     
     
    Follow Us On
    SUBMIT